Dalton Township

Election Recount Questions and Clarification -

On election night, August 4, 2020, there were more AV (absentee ballots) than could be contained by the provided pre-certified red and blue bag. A retention bag was provided for...  View the entire Statement here.


Dalton Township Hall
1616 E. Riley Thompson Road    Muskegon, MI  49445
Phone: 231-766-3043  Fax: 231-766-2636
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 9:00 am to 4:30 pm.
*Drop box is located by front doors.
The Board of Trustees meets monthly, the 2nd Monday 6:00 p.m.


Township Budget     Master Plan       Township Dashboard
Holiday Closings      County Drains   FEEMA & Flood Insurance
Dalton Township closes for winter weather when Reeths Puffer School District does.

Boxes include Dairy, Milk, Meat, Vegetables, and Fruit.
WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 28th, 2020 - Note date change
*Note time and location change*
Information for future date(s) not yet available.
Questions?  Call Supervisor Barnes at 231-332-6700

Location: use coordinates: 43.303427, -86.260639  Take Whitehall Rd. to Agard Rd., 2nd road to the left.  Exit via W. McMillan Rd.
Estimated time: *11:30 AM

*Event runs until boxes are gone.  NO income or residency requirements, open to ALL citizens.

Newsletter/Township Updates can be found on the News &Views Page.

Dalton Township Hall is OPEN to the public. The Fire Station will continue emergency services. The Transfer Station will operate on the regular schedule.
COVID-19 Preparedness Measures effective 6/10/2020
- business is encouraged to continue via mail, email, and/or dropbox.   Click here for more information regarding Corona-virus.

Dog License information is located on the Dog License Page.
Truck Routes are being strictly enforced.  Signage is posted.

*Credit/Debit Card payments accepted at Dalton Township Hall and by phone for taxes, permits, and more.  Click here for more information.*

*Summer Taxes -
mailed by July 1 and due September 14th.
*Winter Taxes -
mailed by December 1 and due February 14th.

Tax Payment Options by Location:
Township Hall: Credit/Debit, Check, Cash Payments. *in person, by phone, after hours dropbox.
Website: Credit/Debit, check payments accepted through our BSA link. Choose "current tax payments" from the services menu.
Community Shores Bank - Causeway location only: Summer payments only accepted July through September 14 and Winter payments only accepted December through February 14. *No partial payments accepted.

*Tax and Assessing information -> Dalton Township BSA Link
*To view, users must create an account, this resource is free to residents.
 above link can also be used for online tax payments.
*Info. is updated daily; please allow up to 48 hours for payments to process/post.

Interest & Penalty
Unpaid summer taxes begin accruing a 1% interest September 15th
and every month thereafter until February (see below).
All Unpaid Taxes  as of February 15th (both summer and winter),
in addition to interest amounts listed above, will have a 3% penalty applied.
All unpaid taxes are sent to Muskegon County March 1st and are payable
only at the County Treasurer's office.

*ONLY the Muskegon Co. Treasurer will accept payments after March 1st. 

Thanks to all who attended the 2019 Push In Ceremony; Our new Fire Engine is now in service!
*click here for more information/video of the push-in*